make your fridays matter with a well-read weekend


Design Excellence Awards


The Interior Design Confederation Singapore’s (IDCS) Design Excellence Awards(DEA) is delighted to announce the launch of the Design Excellence Awards 2022, one of the region’s most anticipated Interior Design competitions in the Asia Pacific region, is now open for entries at and closes on Wednesday 31st August 2022.

The DEA sets out to recognise the best of commercial, residential and public design by the Interior Design industry in Singapore and Asia Pacific, endorsing and celebrating the achievements of professionals and students alike. With DEA, IDCS seeks to champion design excellence, as well as elevate and promote the quality and standards of interior design both locally and regionally.

For the 9th cycle of the Awards, IDCS brings back twenty-six (26) of the most popular award categories across the two competition tracks: Interior Design Excellence Awards (I-DEA) for professional interior designers and firms and Spatial Design Awards (SPADE) for students. These Awards are considered a seal of excellence and proof of outstanding achievements in the design field, acknowledged by a professional jury panel.

Last year for DEA 2021, IDCS received a total of 202 entries in two tracks: The Interior Design Excellence Awards (IDEA) for completed built projects by industry professionals; and the Spatial Design Awards (SPADE) for completed academic projects by design students. The IDEA section received 133 IDEA entries in 22 categories, while the SPADE section received 69 entries in the 9 student categories, recognising innovation and talent throughout Singapore, Asia Pacific and the World.

Past winners such as Ms Cherin Tan, Founder of Laank won the most peer votes for the Interior Designer of the Year Award 2021 and Mr Colin Seah, Founder of the Ministry of Design (MOD) won the Project of the Year Award 2021 for their project Citiwealth Hub. Our DEA 2021 winners have received significant coverage and support from local and regional Design Media and in 2022 we are seeking extended media coverage and your valued support to recognise the winners of the following notable IDEA categories: ‘Project of the Year’ and ‘Interior Designer of the Year’ which are based on peer voting. Nominees for these categories will be selected by IDCS Council and voted on by Interior Designers in the Asia Pacific region from 1st July 2022 to 31st August 2022.


Cameron Woo, Su Seam Teo, Shigeru Kubota, Shi Ping Low, and Ed Ng
This site uses cookies to offer you an improved and personalised experience. If you continue to browse, we will assume your consent for the same.